More than 100 years of expertise

As early as in 1891, the company Utzschneider und Ed. Jaunez established a plant producing clay slabs in Zahna, near Lutherstadt Wittenberg, Germany, manufacturing tiles by means of a dry-pressing technique. At the time, the decisive factor for the choice of location was the proximity of the nearby clay pits and the anticipated market in the up-and-coming capital city of Berlin. The plan paid off and the plant grew. In the 1930s, the "mosaic slab plant" in Zahna, at that time the third largest tile factory in Germany, employed over 600 workers.
Today, Zahna-Fliesen GmbH is using state-of-the-art high speed firing technology to manufacture fine stoneware tiles for the industrial sector as well as attractive tiles for use in the renovation and restoration of historic buildings.

Heavy duty, dimensionally stable, suitable for laying using the vibration method, with ceramic sealing and available in different anti-slip classes. More

Tiles and mosaics in traditional formats and patterns, manufactured based on historical examples. More

Multicoloured decorative tiles and borders, manufactured using traditional handwork and inspired by originals from the Art Nouveau and Art Déco periods. More

Z-Spacer

The Z-Spacer is a distance marker profile section protruding at the sides of ZAHNA tiles, which allows for fast laying and simultaneously ensures the precisely defined spacing of joints. Due to the special shaping of the Z-Spacer, joint gaps are kept clear and open throughout, allowing for easy application of grouting material. More

Kerasiegel – ZAHNA surface finishing

All Zahna tiles are manufactured with the Kerasiegel surface finish. In the firing process, the finish is permanently bonded to the ceramic fragments. More

ZF Colors

The chalky pastel hues of art deco and deep sensual colours of art nouveau form the finely-balanced basis of a wide range of harmonious room designs. More

State-of-the-art technology

The manufacture of unglazed fine stoneware is characterised by a number of diverse transformation processes shaping the structure and colour of the end product. Our high-quality tiles are manufactured using select raw materials and employing elaborate treatment technology and computer-controlled hydraulic presses. Following the drying process, tiles are baked in a roller hearth kiln at 1,240°C for approximately 2 hours.
Electronic monitoring cameras and optical calibration instruments ensure consistently high quality in terms of uniformity of colour, calibre, flatness of surface, quality of surface finish and geometric dimensions. The result is a homogeneous product displaying all the advantages of densely sintered fine stoneware.
Unbeatable attributes, such as high load-bearing capacity, resilience to the impact of mechanical abrasion and resistance to acids, alkaline solutions and frost are an essential element of the quality characteristics of ZF tiles.

More

This website uses cookies and analysis software to record and assess website use. You can find details of the type and scope of data collection in our privacy policy. We would like to request your consent to use your data to constantly improve our website.

To the top

Wissen aus über 100 Jahren

Bereits 1891 wurde von der Firma Utzschneider und Ed. Jaunez in Zahna, nahe der Lutherstadt Wittenberg, ein Tonplattenwerk gegründet, das mit dem Trockenpressverfahren Fliesen herstellte. Ausschlaggebend für die Standortwahl waren damals die nahe gelegenen Tongruben und der erwartete Absatzmarkt in der aufstrebenden Hauptstadt Berlin. Das Kalkül ging auf, das Werk wuchs. In den 30er-Jahren beschäftigte das "Mosaikplattenwerk" in Zahna über 600 Mitarbeiter und war zu dieser Zeit das drittgrößte Fliesenwerk in Deutschland.
Heute produziert die Zahna-Fliesen GmbH mit modernster Schnellbrandtechnologie Feinsteinzeugfliesen für den industriellen Bereich sowie Fliesen für den ansprechenden Einsatz in der Sanierung und Restaurierung historischer Gebäude.

Hochbelastbar, maßhaltig, geeignet für die Rüttelverlegung, mit Kerasiegel und in verschiedenen Rutschhemmungsklassen. mehr

Fliesen und Mosaike in klassischen Formaten und Mustern, hergestellt nach historischen Vorbildern. mehr

Mehrfarbige Dekorfliesen und Bordüren, hergestellt in traditioneller Handarbeit, inspiriert von Originalen aus der Zeit des Jugendstils und des Art déco. mehr

Z-Spacer

Der Z-Spacer ist eine an den Flanken der ZF Fliese ausgebildete Profilierung, die insbesondere bei der Knirschverlegung unserer Industrie-Fliesen eine schnelle Verlegung mit definierter Fugenbreite ermöglicht. mehr

Kerasiegel

Die Kerasiegel-Oberflächenvergütung ist bei Zahna-Fliesen Standard. Im Brennvorgang wird die Vergütung unlösbar mit den keramischen Scherben verbunden. mehr

ZF Farben

Die kreidigen Pastellfarben des Art déco und die tiefen sinnlichen Farben des Jugendstils sind die fein abgestimmte Basis für stimmige variantenreiche Raumgestaltungen. mehr

Modernste Technologien

Die Herstellung von unglasiertem Feinsteinzeug ist geprägt durch vielfältige Umwandlungsprozesse, die Gefüge und Farbe entstehen lassen. Aus ausgesuchten Rohstoffen entstehen durch aufwendige Aufbereitungsverfahren und computergesteuerte hydraulische Pressen hochwertige Fliesen. Diese werden nach der Trocknung ca. zwei Stunden im Rollenofen bei 1.240°C gebrannt.
Elektronische Kameras und optische Kalibriergeräte sichern dabei eine gleichbleibend hohe Qualität, bezogen auf Farbgleichheit, Kaliber, Ebenflächigkeit, Oberflächenbeschaffenheit und geometrische Form. Das Ergebnis ist ein homogenes Produkt, das all die Vorteile eines dichtgesinterten Feinsteinzeugs hat.
Unschlagbare Eigenschaften wie hohe Belastbarkeit, Widerstand gegen mechanischen Verschleiß und die Resistenz gegen Säuren, Laugen und Frost machen einen großen Teil der Qualitätsmerkmale der ZF Fliesen aus.

Mehr

Diese Website verwendet Cookies sowie Analyse-Software zur Erfassung und Auswertung der Webseiten-Nutzung. Details zur Art und Umfang der Datenerhebung finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung. Zur ständigen Verbesserung unserer Website möchten wir Sie um Zustimmung zur Nutzung Ihrer Daten bitten.